I am being punished

Gods Mercy

Okay, this was not meant to be this long. It just kinda kept on increasing so bear with me.

Now, I get to hear this a lot, “I am surely being punished for something I did!”

But the question I want to ask is this, who is really being punished? Jesus Christ or you? I guess that depends on whether you believe in Him or not.

Our famous John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.”

If God was indeed punishing you for something you did then your right punishment would be death. But thank God for the gift of His Son Jesus, that in my opinion, is the Person that got the short end of the stick.

I think we say this because we have not fully accepted or understood the mercies of God or the gift of His Son Jesus Christ. God, in His mercies, not wanting anyone to perish gave us a way out for sins once and for all.

However, does He repay the wicked man for his wickedness? Yes. Can He allow one to be wicked to another and do nothing about it? No. That is why He is the God of judgement, vengeance belongs to Him alone. We are not to take it up ourselves. That was why David did not kill Saul even though he could. When it was time for Saul to die, God sent him into battle and he died by himself on the battle field.

Case in point is that of Cain and Abel which we are familiar with and that of David and Uriah. Both Cain and David were punished.

thou hast killed Uriah the Hittite with the sword, and hast taken his wife to be thy wife, and hast slain him with the sword of the children of Ammon. Now therefore the sword shall never depart from thine house;  because thou hast despised me, and hast taken the wife of Uriah the Hittite to be thy wife. Thus saith the LORD, Behold, I will raise up evil against thee out of thine own house, and I will take thy wives before thine eyes, and give them unto thy neighbour, and he shall lie with thy wives in the sight of this sun. For thou didst it secretly:  but I will do this thing before all Israel, and before the sun. And David said unto Nathan, I have sinned against the LORD. And Nathan said unto David, The LORD also hath put away thy sin;  thou shalt not die. 

Why did God still punish David even after He had clearly forgiven him, had put away his sin, had said that he wont die for it still find it necessary to punish him? Because He is the God of justice or as you would ever so often see in the bible, the God of judgement. Rendering to everyone according to his works. Though David deserved to die for such evil that he did, God showed him mercies and forgave him first out of death, having to die for it and rather punished him. The same thing David did to Uriah was being set up to happen to him in his own house and by his own son, Absalom.

Proverbs 14:16, “A wise man feareth, and departeth from evil:  but the fool rageth, and is confident” and also Proverbs 17:13, “Whoso rewardeth evil for good, evil shall not depart from his house”.

Here is what God said to Solomon,

“He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever. I will be his father, and he shall be my son. If he commit iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men, and with the stripes of the children of men: But my mercy shall not depart away from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away before thee.”

Now Cain’s story.

And the LORD said unto Cain, Where is Abel thy brother?  And he said, I know not:  Am I my brother’s keeper? And he said, What hast thou done?  the voice of thy brother’s blood crieth unto me from the ground. And now art thou cursed from the earth, which hath opened her mouth to receive thy brother’s blood from thy hand; When thou tillest the ground, it shall not henceforth yield unto thee her strength; a fugitive and a vagabond shalt thou be in the earth. And Cain said unto the LORD, My punishment is greater than I can bear. 

Behold, thou hast driven me out this day from the face of the earth;  and from thy face shall I be hid;  and I shall be a fugitive and a vagabond in the earth;  and it shall come to pass, that every one that findeth me shall slay me. And the LORD said unto him, Therefore whosoever slayeth Cain, vengeance shall be taken on him sevenfold. And the LORD set a mark upon Cain, lest any finding him should kill him.

Cain felt his punishment was too much for him and pleaded for a reduced sentence. This is the first man to kill another man yet God did not deny him, in fact God put a mark on him so that no one would kill him and declared that whosoever killed Cain, would have to deal with His seven fold vengeance.

This is Cain oh, that killed his blood brother for no reason oh. And you say God’s mercies has run out for you? That you are being punished? Hey, calm down.

I know this all sounds too serious for the beginning of a new week but here is what God promises us, “Seeing then that we have a great high priest, that is passed into the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our profession. For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities;  but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need”.

My advice, accept His mercies for sins and eternal life by accepting and believing in Christ Jesus and do good to all men, especially those of the household of faith and be sure to have yourself a very lovely week.

Remain Blessed!

4 thoughts on “I am being punished

Leave a Reply

